skip navigation

PREP FOOTBALL: A sweep for Elsinore atop All-CIF honors list

03/04/2013, 1:55pm PST
By The Californian

Awards season continued for Elsinore's football program on Thursday.

Awards season continued for Elsinore's football program on Thursday.

Already a CIF Southern Section Eastern Division champion, Elsinore had seven Tigers named to the division's All CIF Southern Section team. Running back Seth Middlemas was named the offensive player of the year, linebacker Nolan Peralta was named the defensive player of the year and Tony Peralta was named the coach of the year.

"It kind of goes with winning (a section title)," said Elsinore defensive coach Jeff Hodges, whose team was honored as the county's top academic team earlier this week. "I think the biggest thing is that we're getting these guys who are individually recognized, but we wouldn't have won without all the pieces of the puzzle -- to the very last guy.

"That's why those seven were honored. It was a team effort."

The honors were well deserved, too.

Tony Peralta led the Tigers to the program's first section championship in 83 years of competition and his son, Nolan Peralta, recorded 139 tackles, three sacks and an interception in a banner junior season. On offense, Middlemas accounted for 20 touchdowns and more than 2,000 yards of total offense.

Also representing Elsinore on the honorary team were offensive lineman Corbitt Kestly, defensive backs Allan Stubbs and Daniel Rodriguez, defensive lineman Zachary Dembrowski and punter Juan Soto.

Before the Tigers' championship run, they had settled for second place in the Sunbelt League to upstart Heritage. The Patriots lost in the second round of the playoffs, their only defeat of the year, but had four players -- running back Scott Benson, offensive lineman David Hogan, defensive back Donovan Adams and linebacker Toni Hifo -- named to the All CIF SS Eastern Division team.

In the Inland Division, runner-up Vista Murrieta had six Broncos named to the All CIF team, highlighted by All-Valley Offensive Player of the Year Derrick Brown's inclusion at quarterback. Offensive lineman Corey Whitaker, wide receiver Michael Mazur, defensive backs Darion Williams and Randy Perez and defensive lineman Jon Sanchez were also selected to the team.

All-Valley Defensive Player of the Year Adam Pulsipher, of Temecula Valley, was named to the team as a linebacker and Chaparral running back Darius Guillory and defensive back Dylan Valentine were both honored.

Other local selected to teams include West Valley sophomore linebacker Dimone Backus (Eastern Division) and Linfield Christian senior offensive lineman Patrick Blaylock.


Inland Division

Offensive Player of the Year

Michael Eubank, Corona Centennial

Defensive Player of the Year

Chris Gonzalez, Corona Centennial

Coach of the Year

Matt Logan, Corona Centennial

Offensive Team

RB Barrinton Collins, Corona Centennial

RB Sateki Finau, Rancho Cucamonga

RB Kelsey Young, Norco

RB Marcus Mason, Etiwanda

RB Darius Guillory, Chaparral

RB Nate Harris, Chino Hills

QB Michael Eubank, Corona Centennial

QB Derrick Brown, Vista Murrieta

QB Daniel Kessler, Claremont

OL Jacob Olsson, Corona Centennial

OL Brent Walker, Norco

OL Corey Whitaker, Vista Murrieta

OL Cameron Turner, Rancho Cucamonga

OL Lio Lafaele, Corona Centennial

OL Jordan Smith, Redlands

OL Nick Enriquez, Chino Hills

WR Larry Scott, Corona Centennial

WR Donavan Harden, Rancho Cucamonga

WR Michael Mazur, Vista Murrieta

WR Dennis Rufus, Covina Charter Oak

WR Sam Boyd, Eastvale Roosevelt

K Jake Van Ginkel, Upland

Defensive Team

DB Chris Gonzalez, Corona Centennial

DB Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, Chino Hills

DB Josh Armstrong, Redlands East Valley

DB Darion Williams, Vista Murrieta

DB Greg Henderson, Norco

DB Dylan Valentine, Chaparral

DB Randy Perez, Vista Murrieta

LB Ryan Jack, Corona Centennial

LB Tevita Kauvaka, Rancho Cucamonga

LB Josh Peterson, Redlands East Valley

LB Nick Alexander, Covina Charter Oak

LB Adam Pulsipher, Temecula Valley

LB Nick Gonzalez, Chino Hills

LB Rudy Arguelles, Norco

DL Milo Jordan, Corona Centennial

DL Auston Johnson, Chino Hills

DL Devon Lewis, Redlands East Valley

DL Jon Sanchez, Vista Murrieta

DL Cody Duffy, Rancho Cucamonga

DL John Siliga, Redlands

DL Daniel Fusi, Corona

DL Christian Powell, Upland

Eastern Division

Offensive Player of the Year

Seith Middlemas, Elsinore

Defensive Player of the Year

Nolan Peralta, Elsinore

Coach of the Year

Tony Peralta, Elsinore

Offensive Team

RB Seth Middlemas, Sr., Elsinore

RB Scott Benson, Sr., Heritage

RB Jimmy Awolesi, Sr., Fontana Kaiser

RB Taylor Ruize, Sr., Phelan Serrano

RB Davien Payne, Jr., Citrus Hill

RB Antawaun Jones, Sr., Apple Valley Granite Hills

RB Montigo Alford, Sr., Fontana Summit

QB Zeek Julien, Sr., Victor Valley

OL Vance Passamquindici, Jr., Victor Valley

OL Anthony Gordon, Sr., Beaumont

OL Joey Nicholas, Sr., Phelan Serrano

OL Gary Dixon, Sr., Fontana Summit

OL Nick Letay, Sr., Fontana Kaiser

OL Corbitt Kestly, Sr., Elsinore

OL David Hogan, Sr., Heritage

WR Cavion Flourney, Sr., Apple Valley

WR Devon Blackmon, Sr., Fontana Summit

WR Dewayne Brown, Sr., Fontana Kaiser

WR Issaiah Kepley, Sr., Victor Valley

WR Ron Douglas, Sr., Ridgecrest Burroughs

UT Derrick Dison, Sr., Ridgecrest Burroughs

K Leo Farias, Jr., Phelan Serrano

Defensive Team

DB Donte Deayan, Jr., Fontana Summit

DB Kendrick Haynes, Sr., Fontana Kaiser

DB Davonte Manning, Sr., Fontana Kaiser

DB Donovan Adams, Sr., Heritage

DB Allan Stubbs, So., Elsinore

DB Daniel Rodriguez, Jr., Elsinore

DL Jay Fisher-James, Sr., Apple Valley Granite Hills

DL Hector Sotelo, Sr., Phelan Serrano

DL Matthew Ceja, Sr., Fontana Summit

DL Walter Earnest, Sr., Fontana Kaiser

DL Xavier Eavans, Sr., Fontana Kaiser

DL David Irving, Sr., San Jacinto

DL Zachary Dembrowski, Sr., Elsinore

LB Nolan Peralta, Jr., Elsinore

LB Dennis Taylor, Sr., Fontana Kaiser

LB Jimmy Musgrave, Sr., Victorville Silverado

LB Ethan Hillyer, Sr., Phelan Serrano

LB Toni Hifo, Jr., Heritage

LB Aaron Woodard, Sr., Hesperia Oak Hills

LB Victor Iosefa, Jr., Apple Valley Granite Hills

UT Dimone Backus, So., West Valley

P Juan Soto, Sr., Elsinore

East Valley Division

Offensive Player of the Year

Cameron Carvalho, Lancaster Paraclete

Defensive Player of the Year

Darin Thompson, Lancaster Paraclete

Coach of the Year

Norm Dahlia, Lancaster Paraclete

Offensive Team (local only)

OL Patrick Blaylock, Sr., Linfield Christian

Northeast Division

Offensive Player of the Year

Kiko Gonzales, Bishop Union

Defensive Player of the Year

Cashe Sexton, Boron

Coach of the Year

Bill Egan, Bishop Union

Related Stories

Most Popular

Tag(s): Leagues  News  News  San Diego Section