skip navigation

Cast your vote for Boys Prep Athlete of the Year

06/08/2019, 1:06pm PDT
By Union-Tribune



Mac Bingham, Torrey Pines, Sr.

One of the San Diego Section’s top running backs, Bingham earned all-section first-team honors after rushing for 1,640 yards and 26 touchdowns in leading the Falcons to a 10-1 record and the Avocado League championship. Come spring, the USC-bound Bingham made it two straight years of being an all-section first-team member in baseball after he batted .387 with six home runs and 18 RBIs.

Kenan Christon, Madison, Sr.

After rushing for more than 1,000 yards for the second straight season, earning all-section first-team honors and signing a football scholarship to USC, Christon made an even bigger splash in track. He became only the third section runner to win state titles in the 100 and 200, tying the state and section record of 10.30 seconds in the 100. He also set the 200 section record three times, finishing at 20.55.

Billy Tellous, Steele Canyon, Sr.

A standout two-way starter on the football team, Tellous earned All-Grossmont Hills honors as an offensive lineman. The year before he helped lead the Cougars to a state championship. In the spring, the first baseman was selected first-team all-section in baseball after batting .375 with 10 home runs, 28 RBIs and 24 runs. Tellous, who will attend San Jose State, committed just one error all season.


Cast your vote at utpreps.com The voting is weighted. Online results, the Union-Tribune and the San Diego Sports Association each accounts for one-third of the final vote.


The final games of the 2018-19 school year have been played. It’s time to choose the Prep Athletes of the Year. The Union-Tribune and the San Diego Sports Association have considered the candidates and have come up with three finalists for the boys and three for the girls. Their selection was based on athletic achievement throughout the school year.


Winners will be announced at the Prep Athletes Awards Gala/All-CIF San Diego Section Awards Night. The 13th annual event will be held Friday at Petco Park. Gates open at 5:30 p.m. The awards gala is free and open to the public.

Cast your vote for Girls Prep Athlete of the Year


Dates other year-end high school awards will appear in the Union-Tribune:

June 12: Union-Tribune All-Academic Team for spring sports

June 13: Union-Tribune All-Academic Team Captains for spring sports

June 14: Union-Tribune Academic Athletes of the Year

Related Stories

Most Popular

Tag(s): Football