skip navigation

Cravens leads Southwest County contingent of 26 all-section players

01/14/2013, 9:14pm PST
By U-T Californian staff

The CIF Southern Section releases its all-section teams, which honor 26 Southwest Riverside County football players, including Vista Murrieta's Su'a Cravens, who is the Inland Division defensive player of the year.

U-T Californian staff

Vista Murrieta’s Su’a Cravens led a Valley contingent of 26 high school football players who were named to the All-CIF Southern Section teams Monday.

Cravens, who graduated early from Vista Murrieta to move on to USC, was named the Inland Division’s Defensive Player of the Year.

Cravens was one of four Broncos players to earn all-section honors. He joined senior quarterback Nick Stevens, junior lineman Mark Diano, senior linebacker Bryce Smith and junior defensive lineman Curtis Bolton as honorees.

Stevens led the Broncos to the CIF Southern Section Inland Division championship game while throwing for 2,316 yards and 24 touchdowns. On defense, Smith led the Southwestern League with 185 total tackles.

Also representing the Southwestern League were 1,500-yard rusher Justin Harris, lineman Ian Kelly, and defensivelineman Kyle Jones — all from Chaparral. Murrieta Mesa receiver Khalil Sharpe (75 receptions, 829 yards) and Murrieta Valley defensive back Terin Solomon were also named to the Inland team.

Seniors Jamal Morrow (Heritage), who ran for 2,092 yards and 16 TDs, and 1,800-yard rusher David Solis (Paloma Valley) highlighted a contingent of 10 area players who made the Central Division team.

Heritage senior lineman/linebackers Matthew Rodts and Nick Avne and linebacker Marvin Hifo were also selected. Elsinore defensive back Allan Stubbs and brother Rico Stubbs were named, as was Elsinore lineman Antonio Flores, Temescal Canyon linebacker Dawson Lindeman and Heritage kicker Logan Netter.

Tahquitz was recognized with three Eastern Division selections in senior running back Jonte Price, senior lineman Aaron Wynn and junior receiver Michael Stewart. Hemet’s Matt Parker was the Eastern Division’s punter.

Linfield Christian senior lineman Ryan Geach and junior defensive lineman Dallas House were named to the East Valley Division team.

Related Stories

Most Popular

Tag(s): Leagues  News  News  San Diego Section