skip navigation

Locals earn state baseball honors

07/09/2013, 2:30pm PDT
By John Maffei

Five San Diego-area high school players chosen first-team All-State.

Granite Hills senior Trenton Brooks, who will attend Arizona, excelled as a pitcher and a hitter.

Five San Diego-area high school baseball players have been named first-team All-State by Cal-Hi Sports.

Junior catcher Alex Jackson (Rancho Bernardo), left-hander Brett Seeburger (Vista), second baseman Gosuke Katoh (Rancho Bernardo), pitcher/outfielder Trenton Brooks (Granite Hills) and pitcher/outfielder Ian Clarkin (Madison) were first-team selections.

Jackson hit .343 with 14 homers and 33 RBIs. He has 36 career home runs.

Seeburger, who is headed to San Diego State, was 9-4 with a 1.40 ERA. He had 93 strikeouts and just 11 walks in 80 innings. He hit .299 with 20 RBIs.

Katoh was drafted in the second round by the Yankees. He hit .429 with 10 homers and 32 RBIs.

Brooks, who has signed to play at the University of Arizona, was 7-2 as a pitcher with 96 strikeouts in 67?2/3 innings. He hit .435 with 35 runs scored.

Clarkin, a MaxPreps Medium Schools All-American who was a first-round pick of the New York Yankees, hit .414 with 21 RBIs and was 9-3 with a 0.95 ERA as a pitcher.

As already announced, Conrado Diaz (San Ysidro) was named State Freshman of the Year.

Cal-Hi Sports, which has chronicled high school athletics in the state for decades, also honored a number of other players:

Third-team All-State: Shayne Davern (La Costa Canyon), Brandon Gullotti (Mission Hills), Trey Lomax (Mira Mesa), Billy Roth (Vista).

First-team Medium School: Jake Barnett (Orange Glen), Elliott Stepanof (St. Augustine), Matt Miller (Del Norte).

Second-team Medium School: Taylor Ahearn (St. Augustine), Jose Garcia (San Ysidro), Marc Vela (San Dieguito).

First-team Small School: Tommy Edman (La Jolla Country Day), Alfonso Rivas (La Jolla Country Day).

First-team Underclass: Jackson, Eddie Alvarez (Otay Ranch).

Second-team Underclass: Hunter Stratton (Grossmont), Brady Aiken (Cathedral Catholic), Gage Canning (Ramona), Tyler Herburger (St. Augustine), Casey Henderson (Rancho Bernardo), Rivas.

Related Stories

Most Popular

Tag(s): News  News