skip navigation

2013-14 girls basketball storylines

12/09/2013, 4:26pm PST
By Terry Monahan, Special to the U-T

San Diego Section.

Our Lady of Peace senior Kirsten Johnson will try to help the Pilots repeat as a San Diego Section champion.

Continuing the chase

Poway coach Jay Trousdale needs 53 victories to become the San Diego Section’s all-time leader. With 558 wins entering the season, the Kearny graduate trails only Wade Vickery of Santana, who has 610 wins.

New adventure

John Farrell has taken over for Mario Flores at La Costa Canyon after spending most of his career coaching boys. There’s no pressure for Flores’ former assistant coach. The Mavericks are the defending section Division II champions after a 32-3 season.


With all five starters returning, Horizon should have been the preseason favorite to play for a state championship, but the Panthers lost guard Dijonai Carrington. The all-section performer suffered a torn ACL injury during the offseason.

Still haunted

Bishop’s is favored to be a contender for a San Diego Section title again this year. After losing the Division IV championship game to La Jolla Country Day nine times in the last 11 years, including last year, the Knights moved to the newly created Open Division. But La Jolla Country Day moved to the Open Division as well.

New role

Our Lady of Peace enters the season with a target on its back after upsetting Cathedral Catholic in last year’s Division III title game. It was the first crown for the Pilots since 1992. This year, OLP has moved up to Division II.

Related Stories

Most Popular

Tag(s): News  News